Biography

Cantando Admont

Current as of February 2023

Since its foundation in 2016, Cantando Admont has regularly appeared at renowned festivals and venues such as the Salzburg and Bayreuth Festivals, the Wien Modern Festival, MDI Milano, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Dortmund Konzerthaus and the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. The vocal ensemble’s programmes combine early and new music, and in this way cover many centuries of music history. The ensemble’s specialization in contemporary music as well as in that of the Renaissance, under the direction of Cordula Bürgi, makes it unique, especially in Austria.

Cantando Admont has enjoyed fruitful, formative and regular collaborations with leading composers such as Beat Furrer, Younghi Pagh-Paan, Peter Ablinger, Elisabeth Harnik, Klaus Lang, Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis, Laure M. Hiendl, Marco Momi and Carola Bauckholt. It has also experienced rewarding artistic collaborations with various instrumental ensembles, including Klangforum Wien, mdi ensemble, ars ad hoc, Ensemble Kontrapunkte, ARXIS Ensemble, the dissonArt Ensemble, the Ensemble PHACE, Ensemble Nikel and the Ictus Ensemble.

In 2019 Cantando Admont launched the concert cycle ‘Gesprächskonzerte‘ (Concert talks) in Graz, performing works commissioned from both internationally established composers and those living in Graz and Styria. A second series of concerts, entitled ‘Solo Cantando‘, has been set up: this should enable audiences to experience the unique qualities of the excellent singers of Cantando Admont even more intensely and directly.

Projects in the 2022/23 season included concerts with the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam, at the Eight Bridges | Music for Cologne Festival, at the Vienna Musikverein, the RESIS Festival in Spain, the Inntaler Klangräume, the Onassis Cultural Centre in Athens, at the Munich Biennale, the musikprotokoll in Graz and at the Vienna Festival. Plans for 2023/24 include the realization of the ensemble’s own concert series in Vienna. A music theatre production at the Zurich Opera House is planned for 2025.

read more collapse

Photos and Videos

Ensemble
open gallery
Ensemble
open gallery
Ensemble
open gallery
open gallery

Biografie

Cantando Admont

Stand: Juli 2022

Sopran Elina Viluma-Helling
Alt Cornelia Sonnleithner
Tenor 1 Hugo Paulsson Stove
Tenor 2 Jan Petryka
Bariton Matias Bocchio
Bass Karl Söderström

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2016 tritt Cantando Admont regelmäßig bei renommierten Festivals und Veranstaltern wie den Salzburger und den Bayreuther Festspielen, Wien Modern, MDI Milano sowie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, im Konzerthaus Dortmund und am Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires auf. In seinen Programmen verbindet das Vokalensemble Alte und Neue Musik und spannt auf diese Weise einen Bogen über viele Jahrhunderte der Musikgeschichte. Seine Spezialisierung auf zeitgenössische Vokalmusik ebenso wie diejenige der Renaissance zeichnet das Ensemble insbesondere in Österreich als einzigartig aus.

Als fruchtbar und prägend gestaltete sich für Cantando Admont bisher die regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Komponistinnen und Komponisten wie Beat Furrer, Younghi Pagh-Paan, Peter Ablinger, Elisabeth Harnik, Klaus Lang, Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis, Laure M. Hiendl, Marco Momi und Carola Bauckholt. Ebenso wertvoll waren künstlerische Begegnungen und Kollaborationen mit verschiedenen Instrumentalensembles, etwa dem Klangforum Wien, dem mdi ensemble, ars ad hoc, dem Ensemble Kontrapunkte, dem ARXIS Ensemble, dem dissonArt Ensemble sowie dem Ensemble Nikel und Ictus.

Im Jahr 2019 hat Cantando Admont den Konzertzyklus „Gesprächskonzerte – concert talks“ in Graz ins Leben gerufen, in dem u. a. Auftragswerke sowohl von international arrivierten als auch von in Graz und in der Steiermark lebenden Komponistinnen und Komponisten aufgeführt werden. Unter dem Titel „Solo Cantando“ ist eine zweite Konzertreihe in Planung, die es dem Publikum ermöglichen soll, die einzigartigen Qualitäten der hervorragenden Sängerinnen und Sänger von Cantando Admont noch unmittelbarer und intensiver mitzuerleben.

Projekte im Jahr 2022 beinhalten Konzerte mit dem Concertgebouworkest in Amsterdam, beim Festival ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln, im Musikverein Wien, beim RESIS Festival in Spanien, bei INNTALER KLANGRÄUME, im Onassis Cultural Center in Athen, bei der Münchener Biennale und beim musikprotokoll Graz. Für 2025 ist eine Musiktheaterproduktion am Opernhaus Zürich geplant.

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Fotos & Videos

Ensemble
Galerie öffnen
Ensemble
Galerie öffnen
Ensemble
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen