© SF / Monika Rittershaus
About the production

‘I am determined to prove a villain…’

Strange omens and physical deformities cloud the difficult birth of Richard III. Might it be better if this child had never been born? For Richard’s mother, the Duchess of York, it bodes ill that her inscrutable son never begins to warm to her. Just as she can scarcely feel affection for him, he is spurned by everyone he meets. Later, as a young man, he proves utterly cold-blooded, ruthless and triumphant in the battles for the English crown. Can his thirst for power, unscrupulousness and destructive rage be understood as the result of a blighted childhood? Are the causes rooted in family circumstances and social relations, or is there simply no exhaustive explanation for the existence of egomaniacal, malicious people who hunger for power?
With Richard III, one of the greatest antiheroes of the theatrical canon enters the stage: shameless, greedy, violent, the very incarnation of evil. At the same time, he’s a star attraction within the Shakespearean pantheon: perceptive, witty, dissembling, seductive. He adeptly manipulates people, tells elaborate lies, virtuosically instrumentalizes others, and revels in self-aggrandizement. Shakespeare pulls off an ingenious coup that makes the role an extraordinary undertaking for the actor still to this day. It is the questions the playwright raises, rather than what it explains, that continue to fascinate us. What lies behind the appeal of this ‘villain’? Is he a pathological outlier, an aggrieved outlaw, or perhaps the embodiment of a system in its most coherent form? How should we account for the considerable approval he enjoys and the consent for his politics?
Shakespeare’s history plays Henry VI and Richard III form the starting point of Karin Henkel’s production. In Richard the Kid, the first part of the evening, she focusses on Richard’s childhood and family history, the brutish period before he came to power. For years, the houses of York and Lancaster had been fighting the ‘Wars of the Roses’; bitter and bloody battles for control of the English throne.
In Richard the King, the second part of the evening, Karin Henkel turns to the political environment surrounding the infamous ruler. Why does everyone play along, even though they know about Richard’s lies and duplicity? Do his supporters, who enable him to seize power even though they know how dangerous he is, feel the same vicious sense of joy? Does their own greed blind them? What role is played by ignorance, mistaken forbearance, cowardice, and others who systematically look away? How does Richard manage the cynical balancing act of having a deep loathing towards people while still winning them over for his purposes?
In Richard III, Shakespeare strikingly reveals the collective failure of an entire country and the warping of a troubled society, in which increasing brutality only feeds into the rise of a tyrant. An unsettling note is injected by the enjoyment we take in closely watching Richard III and his darkest machinations. What lies behind this? And what is it that makes us collaborators?

Karin Henkel has won multiple awards and directed a hugely successful production of Gerhart Hauptmann’s Rose Bernd at the Salzburg Festival in 2017. As in Rose Bernd, Lina Beckmann again takes on the title role.

Sybille Meier, Andrea Schwieter
Translation: Sebastian Smallshaw

read more collapse
Interval

one Interval

FAQ

How do I get to the Perner-Insel in Hallein?
On performance days, a free bus shuttle is available from Salzburg to Hallein to the Perner-Insel and back. The bus leaves one hour before the performance starts at the beginning of Reichenhaller Straße (at the height of house no. 4). The exit is in Hallein at the Celtic Museum, the further way leads you over the pedestrian bridge directly to the Perner-Insel. Free bus tickets are available on the bus. Please show proof of low epidemiological risk ("3G proof") when boarding the bus. During bus rides, guests 14 years and older must wear an FFP2 mask. Guests under 14 years of age will wear mouth to nose protection. The return trip will be directly after the end of the performance from the Celtic Museum.

Parking on Perner Island is free for the first 3 hours and from 20:00. This means that if you enter from 17:00 onwards, there is no charge for performance guests.

Photos and Videos

open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery
open gallery

Videos

5. March 2021
Karin Henkel on Richard the Kid and the King 2021

Programme Navigator

© SF / Monika Rittershaus
Zur Produktion

„Ich bin entschlossen, einen Dreckskerl aufzuführen …“

Er war eine schwere Geburt. Die Ankunft Richards III. auf der Welt ist überschattet von seinen körperlichen Missbildungen und merkwürdigen Vorzeichen. Wäre es vielleicht besser gewesen, dieses Kind wäre nie geboren? Richards Mutter, die Herzogin von York, ahnt Böses: Von Anfang an bleibt ihr der Sohn dunkel und fremd. Kaum kann sie Liebe zu ihm entwickeln, wie er auch sonst überall auf Ablehnung stößt. Später, im jugendlichen Alter, erweist er sich in den Schlachten um die englische Krone als äußerst kaltblütig, brutal und erfolgreich. Sind Machtgier, Skrupellosigkeit und Zerstörungswut Ergebnis einer zerstörten Kindheit? Sind die Ursachen in sozialen und familiären Kontexten auszumachen, oder gibt es schlicht keine erschöpfende Erklärung für die Existenz egomaner und boshafter Machtmenschen?
Mit Richard III. betritt einer der größten Antihelden der Theaterliteratur die Bühne: schamlos, gierig, gewalttätig, schlechthin die Inkarnation des Bösen. Zugleich ist er eine Hauptattraktion des Shakespeare’schen Kosmos: hellsichtig, witzig, heuchlerisch, verführerisch. Er weiß um die Manipulierbarkeit der Menschen, ist ein großer Lügner, ein Virtuose der Instrumentalisierung anderer und der genussvollen Selbstinszenierung. Ein genialer Coup, der diese Rolle bis heute zu einer außerordentlichen schauspielerischen Aufgabe macht. Immer wieder fasziniert Shakespeare, weil er nicht erklärt, sondern vor allem Fragen aufwirft: Was macht die Attraktion dieses „Dreckskerls“ aus? Ist er ein pathologischer Sonderfall, ein gekränkter Outlaw oder womöglich die konsequenteste Ausprägung eines Systems? Wie ist die Zustimmung der vielen, das Einverständnis mit seiner Politik zu erklären?
Karin Henkel macht die Shakespeare’schen Königsdramen Heinrich VI. und Richard III. zum Ausgangspunkt ihrer Inszenierung. In Richard the Kid, dem ersten Teil des Abends, richtet sie den Fokus auf die Kindheit und die Familiengeschichte Richards, die verrohte Zeit vor seiner Machtergreifung. Seit Jahren liefern sich die Häuser York und Lancaster erbitterte und blutige Schlachten um die englische Herrschaft, die sogenannten „Rosenkriege“.
In Richard the King, dem zweiten Teil des Abends, befasst sich Karin Henkel mit dem politischen Umfeld des berühmt-berüchtigten Machthabers. Warum spielen alle mit, obwohl sie um die Lügen und das falsche Spiel Richards wissen? Empfinden seine Anhänger, die ihm die Machtergreifung ermöglichen, obwohl sie wissen, wie gefährlich er ist, die gleiche brutale Freude? Macht die eigene Gier sie blind? Was für eine Rolle spielen Ignoranz, falsche Nachsicht, Feigheit und systematisches Wegschauen der anderen? Wie gelingt Richard der zynische Spagat, die Menschen einerseits aufs Tiefste zu verabscheuen, sie andererseits aber doch für seine Zwecke zu gewinnen?
Shakespeare zeigt mit Richard III. auf eindrückliche Weise das kollektive Versagen eines ganzen Landes und die Deformation einer verunsicherten Gesellschaft, deren zunehmende Verrohung den Aufstieg des Tyrannen erst ermöglicht. Beunruhigend bleibt, was hinter unserem Vergnügen steckt, Richard III. in seinen dunkelsten Machenschaften zu folgen. Was macht auch uns zu Kollaborateuren?

Die vielfach ausgezeichnete Regisseurin Karin Henkel führte 2017 in Salzburg mit großem Erfolg bei Gerhart Hauptmanns Rose Bernd Regie; Lina Beckmann übernimmt auch diesmal die Titelrolle.

Sybille Meier, Andrea Schwieter

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen
Pause

eine Pause

FAQ

Wie komme ich zur Perner-Insel nach Hallein?
Ein Gratis Bus-Shuttle steht von Salzburg nach Hallein auf die Perner-Insel und retour zur Verfügung. Der Bus fährt eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn Anfang Reichenhaller Straße (auf Höhe Haus Nr. 4) ab. Ankunft und Abfahrt befinden sich auf der Perner-Insel in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Spielstätte beim Eingang Süd. Kostenlose Bustickets sind im Bus erhältlich. Bitte weisen Sie bereits beim Einstieg in den Bus den Nachweis der geringen epidemiologischen Gefahr („3G-Nachweis“) vor. Während der Busfahrten ist für Gäste ab 14 Jahren eine FFP2-Maske zu tragen. Gäste unter 14 Jahren tragen einen Mund-Nasen-Schutz. Die Rückfahrt erfolgt direkt nach Vorstellungsende an der Ausstiegsstelle. Das Parken auf der Perner Insel ist für die ersten 3 Stunden und ab 20:00 Uhr kostenlos. Das bedeutet, dass bei Einfahrt ab 17:00 Uhr für die Aufführungsgäste keine Kosten entstehen.

Fotos & Videos

Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen
Galerie öffnen

Video

28. Juli 2021
Richard the Kid & the King | 2021

Programm Navigator