© SF / Bernd Uhlig

With generous support from the Salzburg Festival Society (USA)


Verity Wingate and Evgenia Asanova are participants of the
Young Singers Project.


About the production

‘I was a blackened corpse among the living, and in this hour I am the fire of life, and my flame burns up the darkness of the world.’

Those are Elektra’s words to her sister Chrysothemis in answer to the latter’s announcement that Orestes, their long-awaited brother, has miraculously appeared and is being given a triumphant welcome, having killed, one after the other, Clytemnestra, their mother, and Aegisthus, her lover and the new ruler of the city. She then speaks her last words, before collapsing dead: ‘I bear the burden of joy, and I lead you in the dance. There is only one thing fitting for those who are happy as we are: to be silent and dance.’ Her father’s death, the death of Agamemnon, is finally avenged. The cycle of violence is brought to an end. Perhaps the cycle of life can finally begin. In her solitary madness, entirely fixated on her father’s ghost, Elektra was like a living tomb for the hero. Elektra dies a few minutes after her mother, who was, of course, her enemy, but without whom life now no longer has any meaning, because the world of yesterday, whether adored or hated, was her only reason to live and it has disappeared forever. Only Orestes and Chrysothemis will try to bring life to this devasted wasteland. The catastrophe that began with the sacrifice of their sister Iphigenia to help the Greek armies to conquer Troy, about 20 years previously, a murder for which Clytemnestra never forgave Agamemnon, seems to have come to an end. For a while. Orestes will now be left to live with the memory of an unforgivable murder, a matricide. At night, in Mycenae, Elektra dies in a state of mental and physical exhaustion at the moment when her life’s sole obsession is realized. She dies dancing around the axe that killed her father.
In Hugo von Hofmannsthal’s spectacularly powerful and savage play, with its language of unparalleled richness and quality, first staged in 1903 in Berlin by Max Reinhardt, only the slightest trace remains of the Sophocles text that inspired it. Reading Friedrich Nietzsche’s Die Geburt der Tragödie and the then very recent Studien über Hysterie by Josef Breuer and Sigmund Freud as well as Freud’s Die Traumdeutung profoundly influenced the young Austrian writer. The dazzling ancient Greece portrayed by Winckelmann and Goethe has been replaced, at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century, by its dark, brutal and almost barbaric side. The labyrinths of the human soul are now obscured by darkness. Pathologies unearthed by the emergence of psychoanalysis shape the imaginary world of creative writers, giving added complexity to their fictional characters.
After seeing Gertrud Eysoldt perform the title role of this Elektra, the Bavarian composer became fascinated and decided as early as November 1903 to create a one-act opera based on the play. For his libretto, he would shorten it in places in order to concentrate on the relationships between the two sisters, Elektra, the force of death, and Chrysothemis, the force of life, between Elektra and her mother, Clytemnestra, and between Elektra and her brother, Orestes, who appears to her like an incredible vision in the twilight: he finally gives meaning to her existence and accomplishes the revenge, about which she has never stopped fantasizing.
After three years of composing, Richard Strauss presented his opera on 25 January 1909 at the Royal Opera House in Dresden. The effect was cataclysmic. From the very first chords, the composer puts the listener in a unique state of tension. Elektra’s lamentation, her first monologue, ‘Alone! Alas, all alone!’, precedes the invocation of Agamemnon, a desperate prayer for the return of her father’s ghost at the hour when he was killed by Clytemnestra: a masterpiece of modern music, it is unforgettable once heard.

Christian Longchamp
Translation: Laura Jones

read more collapse
Interval

no Interval

Videos

28. July 2021
Elektra | Teaser 2021

Photos and Videos

Elektra 2021: Vida Miknevičiūtė (Chrysothemis), Ausrine Stundyte (Elektra)
open gallery
Elektra 2021: Vida Miknevičiūtė (Chrysothemis), Ausrine Stundyte (Elektra)
open gallery
Elektra 2021: Ausrine Stundyte (Elektra), Christopher Maltman (Orest)
open gallery
Elektra 2021: Ausrine Stundyte (Elektra)
open gallery
Elektra 2021: Vida Miknevičiūtė (Chrysothemis), Ausrine Stundyte (Elektra)
open gallery
Elektra 2021: Tanja Ariane Baumgartner (Klytämnestra)
open gallery
open gallery

Programme Navigator

Man Ray, Long Hair, 1929,
© Man Ray 2015 Trust / ADAGP — Bildrecht, Wien — 2019, Foto: Telimage, Paris

Supported by NESTLÉ

* Teilnehmerin des Young Singers Project – unterstützt von der KÜHNE-STIFTUNG

„Ich war ein schwarzer Leichnam unter Lebenden, und diese Stunde bin ich das Feuer des Lebens, und meine Flamme verbrennt die Finsternis der Welt.“

Dies erwidert Elektra auf die Nachricht, die ihr von ihrer Schwester Chrysothemis überbracht wird: Ihr lang erwarteter und unverhofft erschienener Bruder Orest wird bejubelt, weil er zunächst ihre Mutter Klytämnestra und danach deren Liebhaber Aegisth, den neuen Herrscher über die Stadt, ermordet hat. Bald darauf spricht Elektra ihre letzten Worte, bevor sie tot zusammenbricht: „Ich trage die Last des Glückes, und ich tanze vor euch her. Wer glücklich ist wie wir, dem ziemt nur eins: schweigen und tanzen.“ Der Tod ihres Vaters Agamemnon ist endlich gerächt, der Kreislauf der Gewalttaten schließt sich, und der Kreislauf des Lebens könnte endlich neu beginnen. Der einsame Wahn Elektras, der außer dem Schatten ihres Vaters nichts gelten ließ, war diesem ein lebendiges Grabmal geworden. Sie stirbt einige Minuten nach ihrer Mutter, die zwar ihre Feindin gewesen war, ohne die Elektras Leben aber keinen Sinn mehr hat: Die Welt von einst, ob nun geliebt oder verhasst, war Elektras einzige Daseinsberechtigung gewesen, und nun gibt es sie nicht mehr. Nur Orest und Chrysothemis versuchen, auf diesem Trümmerfeld dem Leben Raum zu geben. Mit der Opferung ihrer Schwester Iphigenie, die dem griechischen Heer etwa 20 Jahre zuvor die Einnahme Trojas ermöglichen sollte, war die Katastrophe losgetreten worden — den Mord an ihrem Kind hatte Klytämnestra Agamemnon nie verziehen. Diese Katastrophe scheint nun ihr Ende zu finden. Zumindest vorerst. Denn von nun an wird Orest mit der Erinnerung an den unsühnbaren Muttermord leben müssen. Hier, im Dunkel der Nacht Mykenes, stirbt Elektra in dem Augenblick, als ihr einziger, zwanghaft ersehnter Wunsch Wirklichkeit wird, in einem Zustand geistiger und körperlicher Erschöpfung — im wilden Tanz um das Beil, das einst ihren Vater getötet hatte.
Hugo von Hofmannsthals Schauspiel wurde 1903 in der Regie von Max Reinhardt in Berlin uraufgeführt. Es erschüttert durch seine Intensität und Brutalität, beeindruckt durch die in ihrem Reichtum und in ihrer Qualität einmalige Sprache. Kaum etwas erinnert hier noch an das Werk von Sophokles, auf dem es beruht. Der junge österreichische Autor hatte Nietzsches Geburt der Tragödie, die Studien über Hysterie von Josef Breuer und Sigmund Freud sowie Freuds Traumdeutung gelesen und war dadurch entscheidend geprägt worden. Das lichte Griechentum eines Winckelmann oder Goethe hatte mit der Jahrhundertwende der finsteren, brutalen, fast barbarischen Seite dieser Zivilisation Platz gemacht. Die Irrgänge der menschlichen Seele schienen nun dunkler. Die von der neu aufkommenden Psychoanalyse beleuchteten Krankheitsbilder beflügelten die Fantasie der Kunstschaffenden, deren Figuren komplexer wurden.
Es war die Interpretation Gertrud Eysoldts in der Titelrolle dieser Elektra, die Richard Strauss bereits im November 1903 dazu bewog, eine auf dem Schauspiel basierende einaktige Oper in Angriff zu nehmen. Strauss kürzte das Stück zum Teil, um das Libretto auf die Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Schwestern Elektra und Chrysothemis — die eine auf der Seite des Todes, die andere auf jener des Lebens —, zwischen Elektra und ihrer Mutter Klytämnestra sowie schließlich zwischen Elektra und ihrem Bruder Orest zu konzentrieren, dessen Erscheinen schier unglaublich für sie ist: weil ihr Leben dadurch endlich einen Sinn bekommt und die Rache, die sie sich immerzu ausgemalt hat, endlich vollzogen werden kann.
Nach dreijähriger Arbeit an der Komposition wurde Strauss’ Oper am 25. Januar 1909 in Dresden uraufgeführt. Es war ein gewaltiges Ereignis. Schon mit den ersten Akkorden setzt der Komponist sein Publikum unter Strom. Auf Elektras Klage, ihren ersten großen Monolog „Allein! Weh, ganz allein!“, folgt jenes Monument der modernen Musik, das einem schon beim ersten Hören unwiderruflich im Ohr bleibt: die Beschwörung Agamemnons, dieses verzweifelte Flehen, dass der Schatten ihres Vaters sich ihr zu der Stunde, in der dieser einst von Klytämnestra ermordet wurde, zeigen möge.

Christian Longchamp
Übersetzung: Salka Klos

mehr dazu weniger anzeigen

Programm Navigator