login | register
EN  |  DE


Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award 2014

2 AUG 2014

published in: Concert, General

Peter Brabeck-Letmathe, Helga Rabl-Stadler, Maxime Pascal, Plácido Domingo (Photo: Salzburger Festspiele / Doris Wild)
The competition “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award” was initiated in 2010 by Nestlé and the Salzburg Festival. The competition’s goal is to give highly talented young conductors a decisive career impulse. The award winners are chosen by an expert jury. Apart from the classical and romantic repertoire, the interpretation of contemporary works is a decisive criterion in its deliberations. The prize carries a cash value of 15,000 Euros and will be presented to a young conductor aged between 22 and 35 for the sixth time in 2015. The Contemporary Music Day introduced in 2013 will be continued. The jury chooses up to eight candidates among all the applicants. These will have the chance to rehearse two contemporary compositions each with the oesterreichisches ensemble für neue musik (oenm) in the presence of the jury. The candidates may choose two works from four compositions pre-selected by the jury.

New Features of the Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award in 2015

Nestlé and the Salzburg Festival are delighted to have won Plácido Domingo as Honorary President of the YCA from 2015 onwards. More than two decades ago, Domingo initiated his own young artist competition, the Operalia Competition for young opera singers, and his activism on behalf of young talents will also give important impulses to the next phase of the “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award”.
“It is a great joy for us that Plácido Domingo has agreed to take on this task. I am convinced that he will take the ‘Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award’ into a new, trendsetting epoch,” declared Peter Brabeck-Letmathe, Chairman of the Nestlé Board.

The Award Concert Weekend established in Salzburg will be continued in 2015, embedded into the Summer Festival for the first time. The three finalists, selected by an expert jury during the Contemporary Music Day, will be given the opportunity to conduct a concert of about one hour’s duration with the Camerata Salzburg at the University’s Main Auditorium as part of the 2015 Festival. Therefore, the next Award Winner’s Concert will only take place in 2016.
“The Young Conductors Award has now arrived at the heart of the Salzburg Festival, with the Concert Weekend in August and with Plácido Domingo as the honorary president of the jury – an artist who celebrates his 40-year anniversary at the Salzburg Festival in 2015,” Helga Rabl-Stadler said.
The concert programmes will be developed together with the candidates and announced in June 2015. The Award Concert Weekend takes place from August 7-9, 2015. After the third concert, the jury will begin its deliberation and subsequently announce the winner to the audience.
The 2015 Winner will conduct a renowned orchestra at the Felsenreitschule with a rising young soloist as part of the 2016 Salzburg Festival. The concert programme will be determined together with the winner and announced in the fall of 2015. The Award Winner’s Concert will be recorded for CD and released as part of the series “Salzburg Festival Documents”. 

Application Criteria 2015

Interested young conductors aged 22 to 35 are invited to submit their applications by December 20, 2014. The jury will pay particular attention to the DVD material submitted.

The following documents must be submitted together with the application form:

  • Curriculum Vitae including a photograph
  • DVD (meaningful video material – if possible, this should include a contemporary work written after 1950)
  • A complete repertoire list with special focus on 20th century works and contemporary music
  • List of realised projects and future plans
  • References / Letters of recommendation

The application form can be downloaded at www.salzburgfestival.at/nestle_yca.

Maxime Pascal – The 2014 Award Winner

At the Award Concert Weekend in early March 2014, the 28-year-old Frenchman Maxime Pascal convinced the international jury chaired by Ingo Metzmacher in a performance with soloist Ramón Ortega Quero and the Camerata Salzburg at the Felsenreitschule. “The concerts of the three finalists Maxime Pascal, Leo McFall and Victor Aviat all had a very high level. After extensive deliberation, the jury has decided unanimously in favour of young Maxime Pascal. His great musicality and his special rapport with the orchestra convinced us,” the Chairman of the Jury, Ingo Metzmacher, said when the 2014 winner was announced. “I am very impressed to receive such a prize in such an important place. The Salzburg audience is wonderful“, this year’s winner, Maxime Pascal, said.

From 82 applicants, the international jury had selected three finalists (Victor Aviat and Maxime Pascal from France as well as Leo McFall from Great Britain), who presented three concerts with the Camerata Salzburg, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg and the Symphony Orchestra of Vorarlberg to the public between February 28 and March 2. The programme was selected by the nominated conductors. The three concerts featured soloists Ramón Ortega Quero (oboe), Jan Lisiecki (piano) and Veronika Eberle (violin), respectively.

The Award Winner’s Concert takes place on August 17 at 11:00 am at the Felsenreitschule. Maxime Pascal conducts the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra, joined by mezzo-soprano Marianne Crebassa, who won the Festival audience’s hearts at the world premiere of the opera Charlotte Salomon on July 28, 2014.

CD Presentation of the Award Winner’s Concert 2013:
Ben Gernon
and the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra

Starting immediately, the concert of the Award Concert Weekend of the 2013 “Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award” is available on CD. The live concert recording from the Felsenreitschule, featuring the Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major Op. 100 (1944) by Sergei Prokofiev and other works, has been released as part of the “Salzburg Festival Documents” edition and can be purchased at the Festival Shop.