login | register
EN  |  DE


Salzburg 20.16 • Schrattenbach Requiem


WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Kyrie in D minor, K. 341 (K. 368a)

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Ballet music, K. 367 (No. 1 und No. 2) and final of the 2nd act from the opera Idomeneo, K. 366

JOHANN MICHAEL HAYDN Missa pro defuncto Archiepiscopo Sigismundo in C minor MH 155, “Schrattenbach Requiem”


End of concert approx. 1:00 pm.

Print programme (PDF)


Ádám Fischer, Conductor
Christina Landshamer, Soprano
Katharina Magiera, Mezzo-soprano
Julian Prégardien, Tenor
Michael Nagy, Bass
Salzburger Bachchor
Alois Glaßner, Chorus Master
Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg

Motive Ouverture spirituelle, © Robert Mertens


Stiftung Mozarteum


Four concerts are dedicated to the celebration of the 200-year anniversary of Salzburg’s affiliation with Austria: they illustrate a heyday of sacred music in Salzburg and illuminate the strong connections between the greatest of the city’s composers. First in the series is the Requiem in C minor by Michael Haydn, premiered in 1771, when the musicians included Leopold and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. It was dedicated to Prince-Archbishop Sigismund Schrattenbach, whose protégés also included Anton Cajetan Adlgasser, composer of the beautiful motet Dicite in gentibus. Alongside Michael Haydn, Adlgasser was one of the composers of Die Schuldigkeit des ersten Gebots, the first part of which was the earliest stage work by Mozart, written at the age of 11. Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, whose works are featured in the last concert of the series, was one of the most important musicians from Salzburg. His Missa Salisburgensis, composed in 1682 to commemorate the 1100-year anniversary of the Diocese of Salzburg, was conceived in the style of Venetian polyphony in order to impressively highlight the acoustic advantages of Salzburg’s Cathedral – where the first performance took place and where the work returns this summer.

Ronny Dietrich

Translated by Alexa Nieschlag