login | register
EN  |  DE


Recital • Dennis Russell Davies – Maki Namekawa


DMITRY SHOSTAKOVICH Concertino for two pianos, Op. 94 (1953)

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Sonatina from the cantata “Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit”, BWV 106

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH “Aus tiefer Not schrei’ ich zu Dir”, BWV 687

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH “O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig”, BWV 618
in a version for piano for four hands by György Kurtág

IGOR STRAVINSKY Symphony de Psaumes (Symphony of Psalms), in the version for piano for four hands by Dmitri Shostakovich (world premiere of this version)

ARTHUR HONEGGER Symphony No. 3, H 186, “Symphonie liturgique”
in the version for two pianos by Dmitri Shostakovich


End of concert approx. 9:25 pm.

Print programme (PDF)


Dennis Russell Davies, Piano
Maki Namekawa, Piano

Motive Recitals, © Robert Mertens


Stiftung Mozarteum


Robert Schumann and Frédéric Chopin: piano works by these two composers of the romantic era form two interwoven leitmotifs in the series of solo recitals, joining programmes by pianists such as Rudolf Buchbinder, Maurizio Pollini, András Schiff, Grigory Sokolov and Arcadi Volodos. Chopin’s momentous Sonata in B-flat minor with its famous funeral march is as indispensable here as Papillons and Carnaval, Schumann’s increasingly enigmatic and allusive cycles of dance and character pieces. Double-entendres and winking innuendo also animate the supposed children’s pieces Children’s Corner and La Boîte à joujoux by Claude Debussy – especially when the enchanting Salzburg Marionette Theatre adds another dimension to András Schiff’s interpretation. In addition, Rudolf Buchbinder, whose curiosity is unflagging even as he celebrates his 70th birthday this year, illuminates the relationship between Haydn and Beethoven. Arcadi Volodos, on the other hand, follows the line from Schubert to Brahms further. When Chopin, however, was asked how he prepared for a concert, his answer was: ‘I lock myself in for fourteen days and play Bach.’ The music of the great Cantor of St. Thomas forms another focus – and also provides the connection with the Ouverture spirituelle. Directly under the cupola of the Kollegienkirche, surrounded by her audience, Isabelle Faust will perform his Partitas and Sonatas BWV 1001 to 1006: central, monumental works of violin literature resounding in the heart of this sacred space. And György Kurtág’s soulful, poetically tender arrangements of Bach chorales for four-hand piano, performed by Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa, strike the perfect balance between grandeur and intimacy.

Walter Weidringer

Translated by Alexa Nieschlag